Thursday, March 24, 2011

What's Happening...


Our new books have arrived! Over 80 new picture books are now on display thanks to the Libri Foundation who matched our seed money 2-to-1! The Libri Foundation was established in 1989 for the sole purpose of helping rural libraries acquire new, quality, hardcover children's books they could not otherwise afford to buy. The Foundation has donated over $4,600,000 worth of new children's books to more than 3,000 libraries across the country. Thank you to everyone who supported our Old Home Day Book Sale which provided the seed money and to the Libri Foundation for their vision.

We are very pleased to offer the Mango Language System here at our library. Mango is an internet based program that you can use at home for learning foreign languages. Through membership in our local cooperative we are able to offer six languages to our patrons at no charge - French, Spanish, Italian, German, Japanese and Mandarin Chinese. The comments from users have all been positive and we have been told the service is similar to the popular, but expensive, Rosetta Stone system. Mango will be helpful for the traveler, the high school student needing extra support for the language they are studying or the independent-learner who forgot all the high school Spanish they thought they knew. A Rumney Public Library card and a password are required to use Mango. You are welcome to stop by and we will help you get started. Bonjour!

Upcoming Events: The Byron G Merrill Knitting Society and Yarn Club will meet for tea and conversation next on Wed, April 13th at 2 - All are welcome!

Thursday, March 3, 2011

We're in the News - March 3rd



New Hampshire has a rich tradition in camping which extends back more than 100 years! Our state continues to be the location of some of the finest camps in America. Our beautiful mountains, lakes, forests and weather are ideally suited for every camping activity imaginable. Whether you are looking for a camp to attend or a summer job, you might like to check out www.nhcamps.org. All camps listed on this website are licensed by the State of NH and inspected annually by the NH Dept of Environmental Services.

Fans of James Patterson and Stuart Woods will be pleased to know that their latest books have arrived. 'Tick Tock' is #4 in Mr Patterson's Michael Bennett series - New York City is again in trouble and it is Detective Bennett to the rescue. 'Strategic Moves' is #19 in Stuart Woods' very popular Stone Barrington series - It is New York City again but this time it is the rich and powerful that need Mr Barrington's help. Call or email and we will put your name on the list.

New Hampshire Healthy Kids is a private, non-profit organization that provides access to low-cost and free health and dental coverage for NH's uninsured children. Cost is based on family income and size. If you might be interested you are welcome to stop in for more information.